MMF7 + MF A300 + ML Aeon = Goosebumps?

OK. Here is the deal. I am getting back into audiophilia after a prolonged absence. My first foray was a little "mini bedroom reference" system: Cambridge D500SE/A300, RA Labs Mini Reference (an ST rave). Then I took an ill-considered detour into HT - Sony DVP-NS700P, Parasound RSX-972, PSB Image 7PT/8C/1B. Don't get me wrong, the gear sounds good, but ... no goosebumps.

Or at least, not that often. I have very eclectic tastes (Ben Harper to Elvis Costello to Bill Frisell), but I think a unifying theme would be well constructed songs - some craft in the lyrics and music. Plus I have a bunch of vinyl that I don't have a way to play.

My criteria for a system are that it has to be made of unfussy, well made pieces (I am an engineer); it has to look simple and elegant (I am also an architect); and it has to sound great (I am also a musician, sort of, I am a drummer).

I have a little dough and space for a dedicated music room (11 x 18 x 8), so I am thinking for about $5K I can not go wrong with: the new Music Hall MMF-7 turntable, Musical Fidelity A300 integrated, and Martin Logan Aeon speakers (Demo/NIB/Lite Use/etc). I heard the Aerius speakers two or three years ago and was knocked out (mucho goosebumps) and I understand the Aeons are easier to drive. Have heard an MMF5. Don't have any experience with the amp.

I would love to hear people's thoughts on this combo and particularly any direct experience. (Also, in this price range I have steered away from tubes, but maybe I should not. Something like the small C-J or VTL integrated with maybe a mini-monitor would work, yes?) I want PRESENCE. I want to believe I am there. (I can sacrifice very low bass and very high SPL.)

Sorry to be so verbose, but the posting guidelines suggested more info was better. Thanks for taking the time.
scotthmartin