Nuforce STA200

I am curious about the Nuforce STA200 amplifier  If anyone has experience with the amp it would be appreciated if you would share your listening impressions, both good and bad.  Some of the descriptions I have read classify it as a class AB amp and others a class D amp.  I am not technical savvy about these things, can a single amplifier be both? 
Thanks
George
jetter

Showing 20 responses by mesch

Base on this thread,  I just purchased this amp from Audio Advisor. A Demo unit. I also have a Schiit SYS which I will try with it. Will likely pair it with a DAC/PRE in a second system later. Will get back after gaining some experience with this. Probably not work well this my Jolida Fusion preamp as it has 26dB gain. 
Brad, Thanks for your input.  I am using my Macbook Pro with Pure Music as my server for AIFF files. Will try using it with a DAC to SYS to Nuforce. The SYS-Nuforce will replace a NAD C356BEE integrated. Also have a Pathos Model One MK2 I rotate in. Speakers are: B&W 685s or Focal 706s. Looking to upgrade speakers in 2019. This is a secondary system.
Thanks for the heads-up Devilboy! I have a Jolida Fusion preamp. Likely too much gaib for the 200. Won't even try it now. Have other use for the amp. Thonking of using it with a DAC/Pre of passive, currently a Schiit SYS but considering the Lightspeed. 
Laughing at my last post. Don't know what gaib is, and don't know how to Thonk. Any help?
The test was done into a 4 ohm load. Rated output was measured as 76wpc. Seems to me one might consider this amp as a 40wpc at 8ohm supplier. Did I miss something?