Pioneer SX-1050 speaker problems

Hi,

total noob here. I recently purchased a pioneer sx-1050. I have an Audio Technica AT-LP120 and DALI Zensor 3 speakers. The receiver is in great condition and sounds fantastic. However, at higher volumes (especially if I have the bass positive) the cones on the speakers vibrate crazily. 

I have tried reconnecting the speakers. I have also tried an external pre-amp but if I turn up the bass even a little (I like heavy bass) then at higher volume the speakers have a fit. I presume I am doing something stupid. Any ideas?
M.
128x128schmada
You'll need to figure out whether you are over driving your woofers excursion limits or if you are sending your amp into clipping or a combination of both.
It would most likely be beneficial to switch to a speaker that has more bass output than your current to suite your taste.
Sounds like you’re over driving the speakers and I suspect you’ll completely destroy those (small) speakers if you had your amplifier at the clipping level. 120 wpc is way over the limits of these speakers if driven at high spl levels.
thanks for the responses. I think the speakers will have to find a new more suitable home and I will be looking for  something more robust.
schmada,

Do you have another source, other than the TT? If so, do you have the same woofer behavior using the alternate input source? If it's only with the TT, maybe you are getting mechanical feedback back into the cartridge due to poor isolation from the heavy bass.

If you are having the same issue with all sources, you have a couple of possibilities.

First, perhaps you are really over-driving the speakers. Your speaker specifications show a frequency response of 50hz - 26,500hz. They don't appear to be a speaker designed to produce a lot of bass. If you turn down the bass boost does the problem go away? Maybe you need a different speaker that is more appropriate for your musical tastes.