Onkyo A-9010

I had a few unanswered questions about the Onkyo A-9010 before I purchased one. I was also wondering if it was really as good as What Hi-Fi and everyone else claimed it is. I've seen a few threads regarding the difference between the non-UK versions (with internal DAC) and the so called "British tuned" UK version. I'm a tech and have worked on and designed amps so I don't recommend anyone doing this mod unless you know what you're doing.
So, to start- Yes, these models are ALL the same. The versions you can buy here in the US- usually followed by a (B) for "black" or (S) for "silver"- have the same guts as the famously UK tuned version. Primarily the "four audiophile capacitors" that are Gold tone caps are in all of them. As a side note I've never seen a manufacture marketing four audiophile caps just because they put some higher grade electrolytics in four spots but that's all good. There's also two small WIMA caps at a critical coupling stage. I'm sure there was more done to "tune" the circuit than just those four caps but I can verity that all models are the same.
Here's the difference- the US version has a Wolfson DAC board inside of it. It's a pretty cool addition for anyone who has a less than stellar CD player with an optical or Coax digital out. It isn't on par with an outboard quality DAC but I found that it sounds quite good on the level of warm and musical and not thin or sizzly at all. My 20 year old Sony DVD 7000 bettered it however with it's internal DAC so I didn't feel I needed it.