Nuforce STA200

I am curious about the Nuforce STA200 amplifier  If anyone has experience with the amp it would be appreciated if you would share your listening impressions, both good and bad.  Some of the descriptions I have read classify it as a class AB amp and others a class D amp.  I am not technical savvy about these things, can a single amplifier be both? 
Thanks
George
jetter

Showing 29 responses by aberyclark

I saw that Audio Advisor only had 8 left. I just ordered one. As I update my main system with a much higher end amp and pre, I'll be building a system in out master bedroom. My Nova pre will make the move. However, wife says that my B&k st140 will not make the move. The Nuforce will blend in nicely. I'm sure it will do fine for what I need it for. 
The amp arrived yesterday and I started listening. I have not fully broken in.
This amp is quite heavy for its size and built like a tank. Soundstage goes beyond speakers. So much better than my old B&K.
Sounds lika a veil lifted off the sound. The Nuforce sounds great for both the Older and modern music (My B&K sounded dull for modern music). The highs are not brittle, which is what I was afraid of with my Zu Omen tweeters.

The low end is deep and tight. You can feel the lowest of the notes. The B&k had a loose, bloated low end which worked quite well for old material. This is with the Zu's known for slightly shy bass. 
Cranked up..no compression or strain. I feel I could give it much more (101db efficient speakers). The amp is dead quite. Background is black.

This amp is truly, in my opinion, is a $1300 amp ( original msrp). The $499 price is a STEAL. I suggest pick one up before they are all gone. 
https://www.amazon.com/NuForce-STA200-160-watt-Power-Amplifier-Swiss-design/dp/B01552AKCU?tag=mfconv...

I believe the amp is class a/b...not D 

I'm happy with the way it sounds out of the box. I'll be curious , after more hours of usage, how characteristics will improve.